About us

Maybach vehicles are among the gems of automotive history. A total of 1,800 samples of these majestic automobiles were built in Friedrichshafen on Lake Constance between 1920 and 1941, and only about 160 "Maybachs" have survived to this day. More than ten percent of this world stock is located in Neumarkt in the Upper Palatinate. There, Anna and Dr. Helmut Hofmann have not only collected 18 of these fine pieces, but have also made them accessible to the public in their brand museum, which is unique in its existence.

The collection is the realization of Dr. Helmut Hofmann and his wife Anna’s dream. They want to share their passion and inspire others to appreciate the beauty of vintage cars.
Both of them consider the exhibits to be timeless pieces of art, each bearing their own signature. The family has been collecting important feats of engineering since the 1980s.

In addition, they have used their private funds to convert a historic factory site into a stylish and modern museum. The exhibition showcases not only cars, but also other treasures, including engines, transmissions and axles, as well as historical documents, models and short films about the Maybach brand (and family).

Anna Hofmann received the Cross of Merit on Ribbon of the Federal Republic of Germany from the Federal President Christian Wulff on the occasion of the German Unity Day 2011 in Bellevue Palace. The occasion marked the establishment of the ANNA Foundation and Anna Hofmann and her husband’s commitment to the preservation of cultural heritage.

"We consider our museum to be a very modest contribution in communicating Wilhelm and Karl Maybach’s great achievements to a wide community of visitors."

Dr. Helmut Hofmann